Please enter full postal address and Eircode
All students graduating in any given year will automatically move to ANNUAL (one payment) First Year Post Qualify membership in March of the following year (regardless of when they joined or when they paid the last student fee). To pay your fee in monthly instalments, the member must contact the Office Administrator before 1st March.
For terms & conditions Click Here

By making an application you agree to uphold the IASW Code of Ethics and Practice if accepted.

Thu 10 May



The Ashling Hotel, Dublin 7

Time: 4pm (registration) 4:30pm start
Title: IASW 47th AGM
Speakers: Carolyn Ewart, Manager of the Northern Ireland Assoc. of Social Workers

Price €Free


Chair: Frank Browne
Vice Chair & Time Keeper: John Brennan
Treasurer: Aine McGuirk
Company Secretary & Minute Taker: Danielle McGoldrick

16:00 Registration & Tea/Coffee

16:30 Welcome & Opening Address by Frank Browne, Chair of IASW

16:35 Leading the Change: the Challenges for Professional Bodies - Some Learning from the NIASW

Carolyn Ewart, Manager of the Northern Ireland Assoc. of Social Workers

17:15 AGM Business

  • Welcome from the Chairperson, Frank Browne
  • Apologies
  • Adoption of Standing Orders
  • Adoption of Minutes May 11, 2017
  • Matters Arising
  • Honorary Membership of IASW
  • John Meade – Financial Reports & Accounts 2017
  • Adoption of Financial Reports & Accounts 2017
  • Appointment of Auditors 2018-2019
  • Adoption of New Constitution
  • Adoption of Annual Report 2017/2018
  • Election of the Board of Directors
  • Motions
  • A.O.B

18:30 Close of AGM

Nominations for the Board of Directors

There are 10 vacanices on the Board of Directors, and the IASW has received 10 nomination papers to stand of election for the IASW Board of Directors, from the following IASW Members;

Directors who wish to continue on the Board

  1. Director of the Board: John Brennan
  2. Director of the Board: Hilda Loughran
  3. Director of the Board: Anette O'Callaghan
  4. Director of the Board: Ruth Murray
  5. Director of the Board: Conor Boksberger
  6. Director of the Board & Chairperson: Aine McGuirk
  7. Director of the Board: Dr. Colletta Dalkeni (not a current Director)
  8. Director of the Board: Maria McGloughlin (not a current Director)
  9. Director of the Board: Rachel McCormack (not a current Director)
  10. Director of the Board: Majella Hickey (not a current Director)

Directors who will retired

  1. Frank Browne
  2. Joe McCarthy
  3. Zoe Linanne
  4. Elizabeth Hamilton

Consitution: 'Rotation of Directors'

Article 60: The position of Chair shall be filled by election at the AGM. If this position is not filled at the AGM the members of the Board may elect from amongst themselves a Chair.

Article 61: The Treasurer and Vice Chair shall be appointed by the Board on such terms and conditions as they see fit.

Guest Speaker Biography

Carolyn Ewart is country manager for NIASW and a social worker with 21 years’ experience. She joined BASW in April 2010 and during her time NIASW has grown substantially in membership, influence and reach. NIASW is now the recognised voice of the profession in Northern Ireland, regularly commenting in the media on social work issues.

NIASW has led policy in terms of the drive to reduce bureaucracy for social workers, involve social workers in whole system Health and Social Care reform agenda, campaigning against Universal Credit and the “Rape Clause,” and producing leading membership reports like “Above and Beyond” highlighting the contribution that social workers make to our society.

The team has grown and now has a dedicated social work and public affairs resource to support the profession and engage the public and politicians. NIASW now have a seat at key strategic tables and prides itself in working in partnership across the sector.

Prior to joining the team at BASW Carolyn worked for the Northern Health and Social Care Trust (NHSCT) as a social worker and manager within the field of Mental Health. Whilst working as a manager Carolyn maintained her role as a practitioner by working both in and out of hours as an Approved Social Worker and Practice Assessor for the Approved Social Work programme. She also was an active and founder member of the NHSCT Emergency Response Team for 9 years. Prior to moving to mental health, she worked for the Homefirst, Causeway and Belfast Trusts within the field of mental health, learning disability and child protection.