Please enter full postal address and Eircode
All students graduating in any given year will automatically move to ANNUAL (one payment) First Year Post Qualify membership in March of the following year (regardless of when they joined or when they paid the last student fee). To pay your fee in monthly instalments, the member must contact the Office Administrator before 1st March.
For terms & conditions Click Here

By making an application you agree to uphold the IASW Code of Ethics and Practice if accepted.


Journal Committee

If you are interested in getting involved with this group, please send your expression of interest to For more information about The Irish Social Worker journal, how to submit an article for consideration, guidelines for writing an article, etc. please go to the 'Resources' section on our website.

Committee Members

The Journal Committee members for 2019-2020 are: Majella Hickey (Editor), Frank Browne, Steven Peet, Sinead Twomey and Colletta Dalikeni.


The Journal Committee conduct their meetings through teleconferencing meetings on a quarterly basis. We also use Email to communicate and exchange information.


The Journal Committee are supported in their work by a blind panel of peer reviewers. The blind panel of reviewers consist of six academics from the University sector and three practitioners. Each reviewer agrees to review three articles per year.

Activities / Events for 2018-2019

  • All articles published in the Irish Social Worker are available after six months (with the authors permission) to LENUS (HSE) open access repository for Irish health publications. This facilitates authors to disseminate their work to a much wider audience both in Ireland and Internationally.
  • The Committee are currently in the process of reviewing articles for a generic edition of Irish Social Worker Journal. Articles are always welcome and should be e mailed for the attention of the editor.
  • The Committee are currently in the process of updating journal guidelines.

Editor: Majella Hickey